6 Things You Didn’t Know About “Shoplifting” Charges

6 Things You Didn’t Know About “Shoplifting” Charges

Penal Code 459.5 is California’s “shoplifting” law. The law does not actually require someone to steal something to be prosecuted for shoplifting.   You only had to have the “intent” to steal. (Watch this video to learn) How to evaluate the evidence in a shoplifting case Defenses in your case Plea bargain options Penal Code…

6 Things You Didn’t Know About “Grand Theft” Charges

California’s law on grand theft defines grand theft as the intentional taking away of the property of another when the property or services stolen was worth more than $9501. (Watch this video to learn) The court process for grand theft charges Defenses we can use in court What is Considered Grand Theft? The elements of a “grand theft”…

9 Things You Should Know About Receiving Stolen Property In California

In this post, I am going to explain California’s law on receiving stolen property. In fact: In some circumstances, you can be charged with this crime even if you did not know the items were stolen. So if you’re concerned you may have received stolen property this list is for you. 1. What is The…

Unlawful Taking or Driving of a Vehicle In California – 10851 VC

Today I am going to explain California’s law on the unlawful taking or driving of a vehicle. I often see this violation charged when there is a misunderstanding among two parties, such as using a rental car for a longer period than initially contracted or a person taking a car joyriding. So let’s get started……

9 Things Everyone Should Know About Petty Theft Charges In California

In this post, I will explain nine (9) things you should know about petty theft charges including the four different types of petty theft and how much needs to be taken for a prosecutor to charge someone with petty theft. I will also cover how you or your attorney may approach defending against these charges….

Petty Theft With A Prior Conviction In California

What is Petty Theft With a Prior Conviction? Important Legal Update: Proposition 47 has changed petty theft with a prior under penal code 666 sentencing. Prior to proposition 47, three (3) prior convictions for various theft crimes could result in a felony sentence of 16 months to 3 years for a conviction on a new charge….

[No] You Cannot Be Charged With Burglary When Caught Shoplifting in California

Important Note: As of the passage of Proposition 47 on November 4th, 2014. Shoplifting an amount under $950 can no longer be a basis for a burglary charge1. In California, the crime of shoplifting is usually treated as a petty theft crime according to Penal Code 459.5 PC. If the value of the stolen merchandise is less than…

Penal Code 466: The Law For Possession Of Burglary Tools Explained

California law under penal code 466 pc prohibits anyone from possessing certain tools that experience by law enforcement has shown to be instruments routinely used by thieves for breaking into a car, home or other structure. It is not illegal to possess these tools so long as there is no evidence, or not enough evidence,…