California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) VC punishes a defendant for driving while under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher.
Under California Vehicle Code 23152(b) it is a crime to drive a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08 or more1
There is a rebuttable presumption that if the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving, that the person is guilty of DUI, whether or not the person was actually driving under the influence2.
However, the presumption is not conclusive and can be challenged on various grounds that are discussed under defenses to this offense below.
Estimate Your BAC With Our Blood Alcohol Calculator
To prove that you are guilty of violating vehicle code 23152(b), a prosecutor has to prove the following facts or elements3:
Were You Driving The Car?
To prove that you violated this offense, a prosecutor has to provide evidence that shows that you were actually “driving” with a BAC of 0.08% or higher. This requires proving that you moved the car any distance no matter how slght6.
If the defendant was merely sleeping in the car while the car was parked, or if he/she was at the wheel while a friend ran into a store, he/she did not violate VC 23152(b) .
Was Your BAC .08 or Higher When You Were Stopped or .08 or Higher at the Time of Driving?
As was discussed above, if your BAC level was not at least 0.08% or higher at the time you were driving, you are not guilty of this offense. It does not matter that your BAC level rose to a higher level by the time you arrived to the police station to be tested, as this commonly happens because your body may have still been absorbing the alcohol as you drove.
An experienced DUI attorney will bring in an expert to investigate the facts and to determine whether or not under the circumstances, your BAC level could have been above 0.08% at the time you were driving. This is called the rising blood alcohol defense.
- The blood should be collected using sterile equipment
- The draw site must be sterilized using a non-alcoholic non-volatile cleaning agent
- The draw should be performed only by authorized personnel such as a specially trained technician
- There should be a sufficient amount of coagulant and preservative in the vile
- The blood should be mixed with the coagulant and preservative
- The blood should be stored properly in a clean dry contained that is closed with an inert stopper
The chemical test machine has to be correctly calibrated and maintained. If you can prove that the officers did not comply with the DUI breath testing requirements, that the machine was faulty, or that the technician was not competent, you may be able to get the test results thrown out.
Most machines that test for alcohol in your breath will register chemical compounds in human breath as alcohol, including some types of food and drugs or medications that are legal for you to take while driving. Eating food which causes acid reflux or a condition called Gerd, as well as taking such drugs within certain periods prior to the test may result in a false reading.
|Fine||$390-$1,000 + penalty assessments||$390-$1,000 + penalty assessments|
|Probation||3-5 years informal probation||3-5 years formal probation|
|License Suspension or Revocation||6 month – 3 years suspension||4 year revocation|
|Ignition Interlock Device||Depends on county||Yes|
|Habitual Traffic Offender Status||No||Yes|
|Jail Or Prison||Max of 6 months county jail||Max of 3 years state prison|
Can you remove a violation of VC 23152(b) from your record?
After completeing all requirements of sentencing you may be eligible to expunge a dui conviction depending on the circumstances. However expunging your conviction will not remove priorability for any future DUI’s.
Aggravating Factors: The following 4 factors, if present in addition to a violation of the offense Vehicle Code 23152(b), will cause a defendant to incur additional or enhanced terms of punishment.
These factors are called “aggravating factors.”
- BAC .15 or higher
- Refusal ff the chemical test
- Excessive Speeding or reckless driving
- Minor under 14 years of age in the vehicle
Pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23578 — Excessive Blood Alcohol —
If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or vehicle code 23153 dui causing injury, the court will also consider a concentration of alcohol in the person’s blood of:
- 0.15 % or more, by weight, or
- the refusal of the person to take a chemical test,
As a special factor that may justify enhancing the penalties in sentencing, in determining whether to grant probation, and, if probation is granted, in determining additional or enhanced terms and conditions of probation.
- Penalty Enhancement
- Penalty Enhancement
Pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 235787, a defendant can incur additional or enhanced terms of punishment if you refused to submit to chemical testing.
What if i Could Not Understand the Officer?
If the officer asked you to take a chemical test and you did not respond than this may constitute a refusal8. However, the officer must admonish you in a manner that is clearly comprehensible to you9.
If you were so intoxicated that you could not understand the officer than you can still be held to answer for refusing a chemical test10.
Under Vehicle Code Section 23582, anyone who drives a car
- 30 or more miles per hour over the maximum, or posted speed limit on a freeway, or
- 20 or more miles per hour over the maximum, or posted speed limit on any other street or highway,
While also violating Sections 23152 or 23153 will, in addition to the punishment given upon conviction of a violation of Sections 23152 or 23153.
Be punished by an additional and consecutive term of 60 days in the county jail11.
Under Vehicle Code Section 23572, if you are convicted of Driving With a BAC of 0.08% or More under Vehicle Code Section 23152 and
- You have a minor riding with you in the car,
The court will impose additional penalties, based on which section of the Vehicle Code the original offense is punishable under12.
Request A Free Consultation 818-351-9555
- California Vehicle Code 23152(b) VC [↩]
- Mandatory Presumption Unconstitutional Unless Instructed as Permissive Inference People v. Roder (1983) 33 Cal.3d 491, 497–505 [189 Cal.Rptr. 501,658 P.2d 1302 [↩]
- Elements; California Vehicle Code §23152(b) – Driving With a BAC of 0.08%: “It is unlawful for a person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle. For purposes of this article and Section 34501.16, percent, by weight, of alcohol in a person’s blood is based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three hours after the driving.” Burg v. Municipal Court (1983) 35 Cal.3d 257, 265–266 [198 Cal.Rptr. 145, 673 P.2d 732]. [↩]
- Driving: Mercer v. Dept. of Motor Vehicles (1991) 53 Cal.3d 753, 768 [280 Cal.Rptr. 745, 809 P.2d 404] [↩]
- The Vehicle Code defines “vehicle” as a device by which any person or property may be propelled, moved, or drawn upon a highway that is not powered exclusively by human power. California Vehicle Code Section 670 – Vehicle: “A ‘vehicle’ is a device by which any person or property may be propelled, moved, or drawn upon a highway, excepting a device moved exclusively by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks. [↩]
- Padilla v. Meese (1986) 184 Cal.App.3d 1022, 1029 [229 Cal.Rptr. 310]; Henslee v. Dept. of Motor Vehicles (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 445, 450–453 [214 Cal.Rptr. 249]. [↩]
- Vehicle Code 23578 – In addition to any other provision of this code, if a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, the court shall consider a concentration of alcohol in the person’s blood of 0.15 percent or more, by weight, or the refusal of the person to take a chemical test, as a special factor that may justify enhancing the penalties in sentencing, in determining whether to grant probation, and, if probation is granted, in determining additional or enhanced terms and conditions of probation. [↩]
- Silence in Response to Request May Constitute Refusal. Garcia v. Department of Motor Vehicles (2010) 185 Cal.App.4th 73, 82–84 [109 Cal.Rptr.3d 906] [↩]
- [T]he burden is properly placed on the officer to give the warning required by section 13353 in a manner comprehensible to the driver.” (Thompson v. Dept. of Motor Vehicles (1980) 107 Cal.App.3d 354, 363 [165 Cal.Rptr. 626].) Thus, in Thompson, supra, 107 Cal.App.3d at p. 363, the court set aside the defendant’s license suspension because radio traffic prevented the defendant from hearing the admonition. [↩]
- Where the defendant’s own “obstreperous conduct . . .prevented the officer from completing the admonition,” or where the defendant’s own intoxication prevented him or her from understanding the admonition, the defendant may be held responsible for refusing to submit to a chemical test: Morphew v. Dept. of Motor Vehicles (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 738, 743–744 [188 Cal.Rptr. 126]; Bush v. Bright (1968) 264 Cal.App.2d 788, 792 [71 Cal.Rptr. 123]. [↩]
- California Vehicle Code 23582 [↩]
- Vehicle Code 23572. – (a) If any person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and a minor under 14 years of age was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense, the court shall impose the following penalties in addition to any other penalty prescribed: (1) If the person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23536, the punishment shall be enhanced by an imprisonment of 48 continuous hours in the county jail, whether or not probation is granted, no part of which shall be stayed. (2) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23540, the punishment shall be enhanced by an imprisonment of 10 days in the county jail, whether or not probation is granted, no part of which may be stayed. (3) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23546, the punishment shall be enhanced by an imprisonment of 30 days in the county jail, whether or not probation is granted, no part of which may be stayed. (4) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 which is punished as a misdemeanor under Section 23550, the punishment shall be enhanced by an imprisonment of 90 days in the county jail, whether or not probation is granted, no part of which may be stayed. (b) The driving of a vehicle in which a minor under 14 years of age was a passenger shall be pled and proven. (c) No punishment enhancement shall be imposed pursuant to this section if the person is also convicted of a violation of Section 273a of the Penal Code arising out of the same facts and incident. [↩]
- We handle cases of VC 23152 (b) in Santa Clarita Valley, Antelope Valley, San Fernando Valley, San Gabriel Valley, Southern California, Los Angeles County, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Glendale, Sherman Oaks, Encino, Studio City, Burbank, Van Nuys, Chatsworth, San Fernando, Santa Clarita, Valencia, Palmdale, Lancaster, Pasadena, Alhambra, Malibu, Ventura County, Santa Barbara County, Orange County, San Bernadino County [↩]